Nicole Austin – Scandalous











{November 7, 2007}   Thursday Thirteen #28

Thirteen Cowboy Sayings With New Meanings

Times change, and some of the older cowboy sayings may have different meanings now. You might want to be careful using these, especially with the increasing popularity of M/M erotic fiction and movies like Brokeback Mountain.

  • Been rode hard and put away wet
  • Gonna take a long hard ride
  • You stay here while I sneak around from behind
  • I reckon this is gonna hurt a little
  • Hold it right there. Now move your hand real slow like
  • Howdy, pardner
  • Saddle sore
  • Don’t fret, I’ve been in tight spots before
  • Ride ‘em, cowboy
  • Let’s mount up
  • Give me a stiff one, barkeep
  • Nice spread ya got there
  • I’m gonna pump you fulla lead

Links to other Thursday Thirteens!

 

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here! The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!



ROFL! Some sayings certainly have a whole new meaning, don’t they.



They sure do. 😀



Yeah, reading Pam Houston’s first collection taught me a lot of these. Like… wow! There went MY innocence! No wonder we girls like horses so much!



Giggles. These are great! Happy TT!



jenn says:

Very, very funny!
Happy TT!



They’re all so delightfully twisted I can’t choose a favorite! Thanks for making me laugh. (And thanks for visiting my TT)



Lara says:

Great choices!! Thanks for the laugh — these were great! And you are right, they certainly can have a double meaning!



Malcolm says:

This TT had me cracking up! When I read the subject of your TT, I figured that pardner would make the list somehow.



LOL! Labor Day weekend at the rodeo with the in-laws will never be the same…



Xakara says:

“Rode hard and put up wet”, has got to be one of my favorites. I broke down and used it in a story with a pansexual stallion shifter because I simply couldn’t help myself. LOL

Great TT

~X



LOL! They do put things in a whole new perspective. 😀



jennifer says:

Those are so funny and naughty.



I can’t wait to use a couple of those this weekend!! 🙂



LA Day says:

LOL, They do paint an intriguing picture.



Raggedy says:

LOL!
That was fantastic..
Terrific Thursday Thirteen!
My TT is posted.
Have a wonderful day!
Happy TT’ing!
*^_^
(=’:’=)
(“)_ (“)Š
Raggedy



DUDE! I resemble #1 and #2 – as they are my BOOK TITLES.

Tee hee – stealing some others for ideas

CONGRATS on the release!



Ha ha – I used #1 recently. Really. I like the design of this site by the way.

Hey – I know Sally Painter – saw her name over on the right-hand side. (I’m on a couple of her Yahoo Groups).

Smiles,
Holly
http://theabundanceplace.com



How funny! Do you use these in your books?? I wonder if cowboys still use the phrases. I’ll have to ask a few that I know.

Happy TT!



Lead? Dude, that’s one dildo Superman can’t see through.



Siani says:

Haha! Thanks for the giggle. Happy TT!



LOL! I only found 10 online, Lorelei. I just got finished reading Rode Hard and decided your titles worked great. 😀

Nope, I haven’t used them in any of my westerns…yet. 😀



Harris says:

I loved these! Makes me long for the old West!

~Harris.



Comments are closed.

et cetera