Nicole Austin – Scandalous











{October 17, 2007}   Thursday Thirteen #25

Thirteen Things About My Vacation

Whew, what an amazing trip! My friends and I played tourist non-stop and had a blast. There were only a few things on my to do list we didn’t have time for.


 This is a picture of Lombard Street, which is very narrow and snakes its way down a steep hill. Driving in San Francisco is insane! The streets are really steep and the lanes of traffic are narrow. Add in cable car tracks and traffic and its enough to drive your blood pressure through the roof!
  The Golden Gate Bridge is incredible to see in person. We got our first glimpse of it from a high vantage point after driving up the coast. The second picture is of me and co-author TK Winters.
 Fisherman’s Wharf in San Francisco has nothing to do with a wharf other than seafood restaurants. It was very crowded, but still a fun experience.
 The sea lions at the wharf are a sight not to miss. They bark at each other over prime spots on the floating docks and frolic in the water to the delight of the tourists like me.
 We went to San Francisco on a week day to avoid the large crowds expected for Fleet Week on the weekend, but still got to see the Blue Angels practicing. It’s very difficult to get a good picture because they are moving so fast, and man are they ever loud.
 The train ride through the redwoods was not operating so we took a drive to the Big Basin Redwoods State Park. Pictures really don’t do the trees justice.
 Navigating on a trip is always fun. In fact, my navigators didn’t give me a lot of confidence when they kept turning the map one direction and then another. We had a GPS unit in the rental van, but she sometimes took us in circles and gave weird directions, hence her nickname “the GPS Bitch”. Lol!
 We did a lot of driving along the coast around Monterey, Pacific Grove, Carmel, etc. The coast is beautiful. We saw incredible juniper trees sprouting out of rocks and pampas grass almost twice as tall as we are.

 In Santa Cruz, an eclectic little town, we found a Borders that had a copy of Savannah’s Vision. I signed it and put it back on the shelf for some lucky reader.
 The Winchester Mystery House is a trip! We couldn’t decided if Mrs. Winchester was more than a bit touched in the head or a genius. The rambling house is full of oddities, but also some innovative efforts at conservation. The tour is fun for both kids and adults.
 We bought a star map and drove around Beverly Hills but didn’t see anyone famous. Of course, we had to see the walk of fame and Hollywood sign, Rodeo Drive, and went on the Warner Brothers VIP Studio Tour. I highly recommend the tour. We went on the back lots where ER was filming at the time, saw the coffee shop from Friends, the outside ambulance bay set for ER, and went in the sound stage for Two and a Half Men.
  In Buena Park we went to the Pirate Dinner Adventure. It was a lot of fun. The pirates sang, danced, fought with swords, swung on ropes, etc. We rooted for our pirate and had a nice dinner.
 In Long Beach, we went to the aquarium, and the very cool area of Rainbow Harbor. Even saw the Queen Mary where the 1930’s luxury cruise ship is docked and has been turned into a hotel.
 My trip to California was wonderful and I hated to see it come to an end. I miss my friends so much that we are already planning another joint vacation for next year. This one will be in the Smoky Mountains.

Links to other Thursday Thirteens!
Get the Thursday Thirteen code here! The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!



comedyplus says:

How fun. What a wonderful pictorial of your vacation. I so love San Francisco. Have a great TT. 🙂



Sounds like you had a blast! 🙂



Nicholas says:

Sounds like you had a great time. Thanks for sharing.



It was a lot of fun! Thanks everyone 😀



jenn says:

What beautiful pictures!
Happy TT!



Looks like a great trip! I looooove San Fran; I’d move there in a heartbeat if I could. Maybe I’d even get out to Alcatraz and to Winchester House already. Both have been on my list forever.

Happy TT! I’m glad you stopped by!



Lori says:

It sounds like you had an awesome time…great pics. I borrowed your header, BTW….I like it!! Happy TT and thanks for stopping by.



San Fran is a trip. Driving there is crazy, and all the houses are smushed close together.



Looks like you had an awesome time! I haven’t been to the Redwoods or San Francisco in years, loved seeing your pictures.



Christine says:

San Fran is one of my favourite cities in the US. Loved seeing your photos. Thanks for sharing – sounds (and looks like) you had a blast. Happy TT.



Joely says:

I’d love to visit SF! Sounds like you had a great trip. Happy TT!



Lara says:

Great pics! I was in SF about 20 years ago and would love to go back. My family is all closer to LA, so I don’t get much of a chance to get there, but I truly enjoyed it when I visited!
Happy TT!



L-Squared says:

It looks like you had a wonderful vacation. Great photos!



Xakara says:

Great pictures, I’m so glad you had such a good time. It’s a hard balance to both relax and recharge on a vacation, yet still get in all you wanted to do. Sounds like you did it right! Thanks for the virtual vacation, I needed it. 🙂

Happy TT

~X



Looked like you had a great time. Thanks for the pictures. 🙂



Fabulous pictures. You guys certainly had a blast!



Oooo I love pirates lucky you.

Aline



Great pics, thanks for sharing them with us!



Thanks for the visit to one of my favorite cities! I loved the Winchester Mystery House, too. I’ve always thought of San Fran as Camelot, because every time I’ve been there the weather has been perfect! (It never rains till after sundown, but dawn the clouds must disappear …) All good memories. And thanks for visiting my TT, too.



GREAT photos. I wouldn’t mind seeing California, myself.



Tink says:

What a sweet idea to sign the book and leave it for a lucky reader!
Thanks for visiting my fungi slideshow TT.



Comments are closed.

et cetera