Nicole Austin – Scandalous











{August 12, 2008}   Empty Nest?

I’ve been in a funk since Friday, but I think I’ve figured it out. I’ve got empty nest syndrome. When my daughter left home we were pushing her out the door. She’s the oldest, and developed a thirst for drama when she was a pre-teen. After she left we all took our first long, deep breath in years.

My son is a different story. He’s my baby. And he’s been gone for two weeks, visiting his sister up in the Panhandle. The longest he’d ever been gone before this was 10 days. It is entirely too quiet in the house without him. Even the cats are depressed. LOL! Now he’s visiting the Suwanee River with his dad, extending his time away. He won’t be back until Thursday or Friday.

If this is indeed empty nest syndrome, I only have about five years to figure out how I’m going to deal with it when he’s an adult and moves out on his own. I’m going to have to figure out something because this sucks! Perhaps I’ll travel, see new places, and avoid the empty house. For now, I’m counting the days until he comes back home.

Janet H says:

You get used to it (the quiet). You always miss them.



Thanks, Janet. Its good to know at least you get used to the quiet.



You could come visit me and we can distract each other from the empty nests.
RC



Now that is a fabulous plan, Rhian!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
