Nicole Austin – Scandalous











{September 26, 2007}   Thursday Thirteen #24

Thirteen things I plan to do in California

My vacation starts in only a few more days. I’ll be in the San Jose area for six days and in Anaheim for three. Here are a thirteen things on my tourist to do list in random order.

1. Winchester Mystery House – Designed and built by the Winchester Rifle heiress, this mansion was under construction for 38 years and is filled with unexplained oddities.

2. Lombard Street – San Francisco’s crookedest street

3. Golden Gate Bridge

4. Pier 39

5. Fisherman’s Wharf and the sea lions

6. Fleet Week – See the Blue Angels fly

7. Cannery Row

8. Roaring Camp Railroads – Ride the train from Santa Cruz, through the Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park, down the San Lorenzo River Gorge.

9. Dana Wharf whale watching tour

10. Huntington Beach Botanical Gardens

11. Medieval Times Dinner Show

12. Walk the beach at sunset

13. Be lazy and read

Links to other Thursday Thirteens!


Get the Thursday Thirteen code here! The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

Sounds like you are going to have a great vacation! Be safe!



Yuriko says:

I’ve done the Winchester Mystery House:
http://photosbyyuriko.blogspot.com/2007/09/friday-winchester-mystery-house-san.html

It’s very cool! I loved it. I would also recommend trying to check out some California Missions — if you’re into that sort of thing. Mission San Juan Bautista might be a good one to choose…

And also, don’t get taken in by the tourist traps in SF. 🙂 Lots of touristy souvenirs in Chinatown as well… and if you go.. and like dim sum, check out New Asia Restaurant in SF. Yummy food!



Sounds like a great trip. Have a fun time 🙂



Ellen says:

Two of my 3 kids were born in Huntington Beach and I never realized they have a botanical garden. Enjoy Cali!



Chelle Y. says:

I live in the Bay Area and I can tell you that if you do half of those things in the San Jose area, you’ll have a blast!

Have a great trip and welcome to California! 🙂

http://www.chelleyoung.com/index.php/archive/thursday-thirteen-77-thirteen-things-about-my-nephew-jared/



Nicholas says:

You didn’t mention SF cablecars but we can take that as a given, yes? If you can, do the Alcatraz tour. It’s fascunating. Also, drive north for about an hour to Bodega Bay. A lovely little coastal town, where The Birds was filmed.



Tink says:

Have a great rip! Be sure to make a lot of pics to share with us when you get back! 🙂
My TT shows my Tinkerbell collection.



Thankfully I’ll be going with locals who know what to avoid and what is worth seeing.

Yuriko, we do plan on going to some Missions if we have enough time.

The gardens sound incredible, Ellen. I can’t wait to see them.

Ack, the cable cars. I had meant to include that with the other SF activities, Nicholas. We also talked about Nob Hill and Russian Hill.

I’m sure I’ll have tons of pictures, Tink. I’ve got my digital camera and a spare memory card all ready to go.



Loved the Winchester House and Lombard Street! In fact, I love just about everything about San Francisco. Eat plenty of fresh seafood for me!



busy says:

I soon hope to see 13 pictures you took in CA. Have fun.



The Winchester house is whacked! Did you ever see Stephen King’s Rose Red? *cue spooky music* Have fun on your vacation, Nic.



I love spooky stuff like that! The Winchester house would have been great for the movie of Rose Red. 😀



Lori says:

It sounds like you’re gonna be a busy girl….I hope you enjoy our state:) There IS alot to do here…Happy TT.



That sounds fun. Nicole: would you consider putting your blog link in your comments? I had a bit of trouble finding your TT. 🙂



Having lived there, I can tell you’ll have fun (go see the redwoods too). Have a fun trip.



I hear that Winchester House is VERY cool. Have fun there — and have a great trip!



Xakara says:

Make sure to post pics of the Winchester House! 🙂

Can’t wait to hear how your vacation was. Have a great trip.

~X



That sounds like so much fun. Enjoy yourself!



Have a great, safe, and fun trip!!! HAPPY TT!!



LA Day says:

Sounds great. Enjoy!



Thanks, everyone ! I’m sure it will be a great trip.

Sorry about the link issue. I’ll make a note to include it in my comments.



I’d love to see the Winchester house…



vixensden says:

Have a great time. That is where I grew up (Bay Area) and all of those things are awesome fun! Enjoy!



Looks like a great list! Have fun!



I wanna go to medieval times toooo.
Have fun.

Aline



Have Fun! You lucky gal, you.



Wow! Sounds like you’re going to have a lot of fun! 🙂



Kendra says:

you are going to love cali! both nor-cal and socal! i just moved to the east coast from LA and i miss it sooo much! enjoy for me! happyTT!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
