Nicole Austin – Scandalous











{September 24, 2007}   Mechanics vs. Women

I really hate it when mechanics treat women like we are stupid just because we don’t have the Y chromosome. Ugh! Personally, I know just enough about cars to sometimes get myself in trouble. I know my makes and models and can distinguish one muscle car from another. I can also talk up my car and its attributes: dual chrome exhaust, 5.3L V8 with 303 HP and 323 lb-ft of torque, TAPshift manual transmission controls, 18 inch staggered tires, front wheel drive and how because of that it pulls to the right when you nail the gas pedal from a dead stop. Yeah, I like my car. *g*

My baby started riding rough and I checked the tires. Sure enough one of them had a leak so I took it in to the most convenient tire place. They plugged the tire and I had them check the alignment, etc. After about an hour the mechanic calls me out into the service bay to explain that I need pads on my front brakes and new rotors. This is when my brow furrows and I start to look at him funny. My car only has 16,000 miles on it and should not need either. When I asked what was wrong with the rotors he said they could not be machined and if I didn’t want to have brake noise, they would have to be replaced along with the pads.

WTF! There is nothing wrong with the rotors. In fact, they are pristine. Why would I replace them to the tune of $300? Um…hello. Do I have stupid written on my forehead? Nope, didn’t think so. This guy obviously gets a commission if he racks up the sales. Needless to say, tomorrow I’ll be taking the car to a mechanic I know and have him look at and the pads, not the rotors, and replace them if necessary.

I was a good girl, didn’t give the silly fool a smack down he deserved in front of the whole place, but I did nicely let him know that I wasn’t buying his b.s. Grrrrr! What a jerk!

Well done, great blog and great posts!!!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
