Nicole Austin – Scandalous











{August 22, 2007}   Thursday Thirteen #19

Thirteen Margarita Recipes

I’m celebrating the release of my 8th book, Margarita Day. Yay! And what better way to do so than with thirteen margarita recipes. After all, it’s such a versatile drink. You can mix in your favorite fruit flavored liqueur or beer. Heck, you can even mix it with other cocktails for a unique drink. They can be served frozen or on the rock, with or without a salted glass. The possibilities are endless. It’s been so hot outside a cold margarita makes a refreshing treat. Make it a Margarita Day!

Cool Mint Margarita
1 ½ oz. tequila
½ oz. triple sec
½ oz. crème de menthe
3 oz. margarita mix
Shake and pour over ice
Garnish with fresh mint

Martirita (Margarita & Martini)
2 oz. tequila
1 oz. triple sec
Splash of margarita mix
Fresh lime juice
Shake and pour over ice

Sangrita (Margarita & Sangria)
8 oz. tequila
12 oz. margarita mix
2 oz. lime juice
3 oz. triple sec
4 oz. sangria
Add crushed ice to a blender along with the first four ingredients. Pour into glass then add the sangria.

Pina Rita (Margarita & Pina Colada)
1 ½ oz. tequila
1 oz. melon liqueur
1 oz. pina colada mix
½ oz lime juice
½ oz. orange juice
Dash of grenadine
½ cup crushed ice
Mix in blender

Beerita (Margarita & Beer)
2 (12 oz) bottles of beer – chilled, light domestic beer
½ cup frozen limeade concentrate – thawed
4 oz. chilled tequila
Combine beer, limeade and tequila. Pour over ice.
Note – this recipe makes 4 servings

Redneck Margarita
1 oz. whiskey
½ oz. triple sec
margarita mix
Fill rocks glass with ice. Add whiskey and triple sec, then add margarita mix until the glass is full.

Blue Margarita
2 oz. tequila
1 1/2 oz. blue curacao
1 1/2 oz. margarita mix
Mix in blender with crushed ice

Purple Margarita
2 oz. tequila
2 oz. margarita mix
2 oz. raspberry liqueur
1 oz. lime juice
1 oz. cranberry juice
Shake and pour over ice

Banana Margarita
1 oz. crème de bananes
1 oz. tequila
½ oz. triple sec
¾ oz. lemon juice
¼ cup mashed banana
Rub the lemon juice around the rim of a frosted glass and dip into superfine bar sugar. Fill with ice. Mix the liquid ingredients and pour into prepared glass.
Garnish with a lemon juice-dipped slice of banana

Red Hot Rita
1 ½ oz. tequila
1 oz. triple sec
1 oz. lime juice
½ tsp. hot sauce
Rub lime over edge of glass and dip into superfine bar sugar. Add ice to glass. Shake ingredients and pour into prepared glass.

Chocolate Margarita
1 ½ oz. tequila
1 oz. Godiva liquor
¾ oz. half & half
1 tbsp. chocolate syrup
2 oz. orange juice
Coat the rim of the glass with crushed chocolate cookies
Shake and serve over ice.

Frozen Raspberry Margarita
4 cups frozen raspberries
2 tbsp. lemon juice
6 oz. tequila
2 oz. Grand Marnier
3 oz. Chambord
2 cups ice
Mix in blender until smooth.
Rub lime over edge of glass and dip into superfine bar sugar. Pour frozen mixture into prepared glass.
Garnish with whole, fresh raspberries
Note – makes 4 servings

Reduced Calorie Margarita
1 tub Crystal Light lemon-lime or lemonade drink mix
2 cups water
Juice of one lime
8 oz. Tequila
6 oz. Grand Marnier
4 oz. Brandy
Mix in 2-quart pitcher filled with ice. Maxes 1 ½ quarts

Links to other Thursday Thirteens!

  

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here! The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

Suprina says:

Great List!
Those sound delish, However I haven’t even had a taste of Beer. And I am 34!
Happy T13!



Jill says:

Now, I want a margarita, even if I don’t like that much tequila!! I think I would like the blue and the frozen rasberries one!!



Lori says:

What about the Cadillac Margarita!! Thats the best one:) Happy TT.



Lara says:

Pina Rita sounds heavenly — I’m going to try that one. Of course, you really won’t have to twist my arm all that much!
great post and happy TT!



The beer one is weird, that’s why I included it. LOL!

I had to limit it to 13, Lori, otherwise I would have included the Cadillac.



Marina says:

wow–if I weren’t so paranoid about tequila, I’d try a few of these (like the chocolate one)

Happy T13!



I am SO printing this list out…



Beerita. Hmmm … As with some men, I find myself both appalled yet tempted to try it …



Ive done the beerita before, and it does taste great. But now I have more ideas to try



Now a beerita sounds real interesting. Love the list. Will print out to add to my mixology collection:)

Thank you for visiting my TT last week. This week I am thanking my fellow TTer’s. Come by and get your thanks!



comedyplus says:

What a great list of drinks. I didn’t know there were this many different types either. Congratulations on your book and have a great TT. 🙂



Fun list! Congrats on Margarita Day. : )



LA Day says:

Oh this is useful information. I could use one now!



Holly says:

Congrats on your new Release! That’s very exciting.

I’ve tried all of these but the low cal one. I’m all about the fat, man. 🙂



Kuanyin says:

Congratulations with the publishing of your book! Great list…a margarita is one of my favorite drinks, and I’ll be saving this! Happy TT!



makita says:

What a great list! Thank you – I’ll be printing these for sure! 🙂 And congrats on the new book!



Xakara says:

Congrats on the new release!

The raspberry caught me. I’m all about the frozen drinks. Unfortunately I haven’t had a margarita or my fave, cognac smoothies (Alize Red Passion [passion fruit, cranberry, cognac blend] and bacardi strawberry daquiri mix. Yes, strange, but true) in more than a two years, maybe three. I’ll have to remedy that.

Thanks for making me think of it.

~X



That’s a lot of margarita recipes! You certainly researched your book. *g*



sonshine1296 says:

Oh no, you have been peaking in my diary! I LOVE margaritas! I will have to try one or two (or all) of them! Love your Thursday Thirteen. Mine is up too if you want to stop by!



As I love Margaritas, I’m copying this. Thank you!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
