Nicole Austin – Scandalous











{September 27, 2006}   Bad Manners

Overall society has experienced a decline in manners over the past decade. We have become downright rude! It’s true, our manners suck.

To a great deal, I believe cell phones can be blamed. Almost everyone has a cell phone, and they answer their calls no matter when or where. I’ve seen an interviewee take a cell phone call in the middle of a job interview. Of course, they didn’t get the job.

Then there are the sales clerks answering personal cell phone calls and concentrating on that instead of the job they are being paid for. And let’s not even talk about the hazards of those answering their cell phones while driving. Operating a vehicle where the slightest distraction can lead to fatality and dividing your attention to talk on the phone is irresponsible. 

Now we have these blue tooth headsets that wrap around your ear and people walking around talking. I was in the grocery store the other day when someone nearby said, “Hey, how are you doing?” I turned to see if I knew the person and said, “Fine, how are you?” Turns out they weren’t talking to me at all…lol! It was rather embarrassing. 

For some reason, society just can’t unplug or step back anymore. We are electronically wired and in-touch no matter where we go. 

It seems that no one knows the rules of the road anymore, either. Things like using the left lane for passing. Well, not anymore. Drivers get into the left lane and sit there, making faster drivers pass them on the right. And when the light turns green, don’t even think about waiting a moment to make sure no one runs it before going. You’ll have a whole line of impatient motorists honking their horns behind you.  

If they happen to be in the wrong lane and need to turn, many drivers will cut across several lanes of traffic to get where they need to be. What the heck is that?  There are other people out there on the road too. Turning left from the right hand lane is going to result in a collision. Hello! 

The whole “me” attitude has gone too far. Guess what. It’s not all about you. There are other people in the world, and we find you very irritating and rude. 

This has been my personal opinion. Whew, I feel better now. Feel free to comment, adding what you find rude with today’s society. It feels good to get it off your chest!

candy says:

You are so right Nic. This world has become a rather rude place. How about when you let a driver to go in front of you, what happened to the wave from the hand from them (saying thanks for letting me in).

Or another problem with cell phones is with the customer. I work in a clothes store and the cell phone users come in talking loudy on their phones disturbing the other shoppers. Also, when the customer comes to the checkout counter yakking away on their phone while you’re trying to ring up their purchases. That is just rude and those adults are teaching their children the same nasty habit with the cell phones.



That is rude, Candy. I think manners have become a thing of the past.



NJ Walters says:

Manners do seem to be in very short supply today. I automatically say please and thank you because that’s how I was raised, but I find not many other people do. It’s sad really to think that basic common courtesy is no longer valued.



Phyllis N. Crabtree says:

I couldn’t have said it better myself. I thought I was the only one that felt the way I do, but I see I’m not. You are so correct on every point.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
